Nan Xin Cang was one of the royal granaries for grains and rice storage in Beijing during the Ming and Qing Dynasties. It was originally built in 1409 during the 7th year of Emperor Yong Le's reign on the site of Bei Tai Cang which had earlier been erected during the Yuan Dynasty. It has a 600-year history and is almost the same age as Beijing's Forbidden City.
Nan Xin Cang cultural and pedestrian street has a particular charm that has been carefully recreated to maintain the historical culture of the original Nan Xin Cang, which is part of the eleventh Five-year major commercial development plan for Beijing. Nan Xin Cang has won an award for being one of the most creative commercial culture projects in Beijing. It will soon become a unique and favorite commercial and pedestrian street.
The area of the street is 25.8 thousand m2. The architectural facilities are mainly composed of ancient grain houses, other replicated traditionally-styled buildings and a 15 storey commercial and office building. The total building area is 33 thousand m2, and the pedestrian street is about 1000 meters long, all operated and managed by Beijing Nan Xin Cang Trade Co., Ltd., a subsidiary company of Beijing Yishang Group.
The street is lined with cultural places such as an art gallery, a classical music media center, a film and television cultural club, Kunqu Opera Theater, club and pedestrian spaces including a Chinese and Western style restaurant with domestic and foreign characteristics, a music bar, a sales exhibition center of famous automobiles, tea houses and other recreational facilities.
As an innovative and restored historical monument, Nan Xin Cang will serve as a "Window" to exhibit the harmony between commercial groups and the multiple cultures of Beijing to the world. Nan Xin Cang will also serve as a conference, media and recreational center for the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games.