News & Events
 Nobel Laureates to Discuss Life Science Developments
 Nobel Laureates to Spark Scientific Curiosity in Beijing
 Organizers Meet for Nobel Laureates Beijing Forum 2006
 Nobel laureates upbeat on economy
 Mundell: China should keep currency peg
 Nobel Laureate Calls for More Education Investment
About Nobel Prize
    The Nobel Prize is an international award given yearly since 1901 for achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, literature and for peace. In 1968, the Bank of Sweden instituted the Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize.

    The Prize Winners are announced in October every year. They receive their awards (a prize amount, a gold medal and a diploma) on December 10, the anniversary of Nobel's death.
    Alfred Nobel was born in 1833 in Stockholm, Sweden. His family was descended from Olof Rudbeck, the best-known technical genius of Sweden's 17th century era as a great power in northern Europe.

    Nobel invented dynamite in 1866 and later built up companies and laboratories in more than 20 countries all over the world.

    On November 27, 1895, Nobel signed his last will providing for the establishment of the Nobel Prize. He died of cerebral haemorrhage in his home in San Remo, Italy on December 10, 1896.
    Alfred died in San Remo, Italy on December 10, 1896. In his last will and testament, he wrote that much of his fortune was to be used to give prizes to those who have done their best for humanity in the field of physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and peace.

    In 1901, the first Nobel Prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine and Literature were first awarded in Stockholm, Sweden and the Peace Prize in Kristiania (now Oslo), Norway.
    The first Prize Award Ceremony in 1901 at the Old Royal Academy of Music in Stockholm.
Programme of Beijing Forum 2006
Sept. 5th Tuesday
9:30 Grand opening ceremony.....
9:35-12:10 Speeches.....
12:15 End of the forum.....
14:00-17:00 Speeches.....
Sept. 6th Wednesday 9:00-9:10 Review of the Forum on Sept. 5th.....
9:10-9:45 Speeches.....
10:20-10:30 Tea Break.....
10:30-12:15 Speeches in the morning.....
12:20 End of the forum.....
15:00-16:00 Meeting with students of China Academy of Sciences.....
16:00-16:30 Tour around the Institute of Biophysics.....
16:30-18:00 Round Table Panel on Life Sciences.....
Sept. 7th Thursday
9:30 Forum open.....
9:35-12:20 Speeches and Q&A.....
12:20 End of the forum.....
14:30-14:40 Speeches .....
14:45-14:50 Exhibition kick off.....
14:50-15:55 Tour.....
16:00 End of the ceremony.....
18:30-20:00 Closing Banquet.....
List of All Laureates
The Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel
  Front Back
    The Bank of Sweden (Sveriges Riksbank) Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel was first awarded to Ragnar Frisch and Jan Tinbergen in 1969 for their development and application of dynamic models in the analysis of economic processes. The Prize has since been awarded to works ranging from methodologies and theories used in studying the efficient use of economic and financial resources, to macroeconomic performance and economic policy, development economics, international trade and the role of information.
The Nobel Prize in Physics
Physics and Chemistry
  Front Back
    Many of the features that highlight our quest to understand our fascinating world and the universe are reflected in the Nobel Prizes in Physics. The first prize in 1901 was awarded to Wilhelm Ryntgen, for his discovery of X-rays. In more recent years, the Prize has been awarded for discoveries and achievements in communication technology, cosmic radiation, super-fluidity, and the structure of matter, to cite just a few examples.
The Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Physics and Chemistry
  Front Back
    The Nobel Prizes in Chemistry reflect the discoveries and achievements that have resulted from investigations of matter and the processes of life during more than 100 years. Starting with the 1901 prize to Jacobus H.van Hoff, these collective accomplishments have not only increased our understanding of chemical processes and their molecular basis, but also lie behind much of the technological advancements we enjoy today.
The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
Physiosogy or Medicine
  Front Back
    In 1901, Emil von Behring was awarded the first Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his work on serum therapy, which opened a new road in medical science and helped save hundreds of thousands of lives. The Prize has subsequently been awarded to a broad field including immunology, genetics, neurobiology, diagnostics and drug development, as mankind continues to struggle against disease and death.
The Nobel Prize in Literature
  Front Back
    The Nobel Prize in Literature has recognized the whole spectrum of literary works including poetry, novels, short stories, plays, essays and speeches. Starting off with the first prize in 1901 to the poet and philosopher Sully Prudhomme, author of Stances et Poemes (1865), the Prize has distinguished the works of authors from different languages and cultural backgrounds. It has been awarded to unknown masters as well as authors acclaimed worldwide.
The Nobel Peace Prize
  Front Back
    The ways and means to achieve peace are as diverse as the individuals and organizations rewarded with the Nobel Peace Prize. Henry Dunant, founder of the Red Cross, shared the first prize in 1901 with Frederic Passy, leading international pacifist of the time. Aside from humanitarian work and peace movements, the Prize has been awarded to a wide field of work including advocacy of human rights, mediation of international conflicts and arms control and disarmament.
Related Links
 About Beijing
VIP guests
Lee Tsung-dao
Lee Tsung-dao was born in Shanghai in 1926, and his originally family home was in Suzhou, Jiangsu Province.In 1957, he won the Nobel Prize in Physics jointly with Yang Zhenning for their discovery of parity non-conservation law.
Hartmut Michel
Hartmut Michel was born in the town of Ludwigsburg, Germany, in July 1948. He is one of the youngest Nobel Laureates.
Robert A. Mundell
The Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 1999
Robert Huber
Robert Huber was born in 1937 in Munich. He studied chemistry at the Technische Universit?t München (TUM), where he also completed his Ph.D. and habilitation.
Aaron Ciechanover
Aaron Ciechanover is a Distinguished Research Professor in the Faculty of Medicine of the Technion in Haifa, Israel.
Louis J. Ignarro
Louis J. Ignarro was born in 1941 in Brooklyn, New York He received a B.Sc. degree in Pharmacy/Chemistry from Columbia University in 1962.
Ferid Murad
Dr. Murad was born in 1936 in Indiana. He earned his undergraduate degree in premedical science and chemistry from DePauw University in 1958 and received his M.D. and Ph.D. in Pharmacology from Case Western University in 1965.
Xiaodong Wang
Dr. Xiaodong Wang was born in Wuhan in 1963. He received his bachelor's degree in Science from Beijing Normal University and his Ph.D. in biochemistry from University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center.
Other VIP guests
Michael Woodford
Economics Prof.,University of Colombia,USA
Alberto Alesina
Economics Prof.,University of Harvard,USA
Robert Barro
Economics Prof.,University of Harvard,USA
Edmund Phelps
Economics Prof.,University of Colombia,USA
Xavier Sala-i-Martin
Economics Prof.,University of Colombia,USA