News & Events
 Nobel Laureates to Discuss Life Science Developments
 Nobel Laureates to Spark Scientific Curiosity in Beijing
 Organizers Meet for Nobel Laureates Beijing Forum 2006
 Nobel laureates upbeat on economy
 Mundell: China should keep currency peg
 Nobel Laureate Calls for More Education Investment
About Nobel Prize
    The Nobel Prize is an international award given yearly since 1901 for achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, literature and for peace. In 1968, the Bank of Sweden instituted the Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize.

    The Prize Winners are announced in October every year. They receive their awards (a prize amount, a gold medal and a diploma) on December 10, the anniversary of Nobel's death.
    Alfred Nobel was born in 1833 in Stockholm, Sweden. His family was descended from Olof Rudbeck, the best-known technical genius of Sweden's 17th century era as a great power in northern Europe.

    Nobel invented dynamite in 1866 and later built up companies and laboratories in more than 20 countries all over the world.

    On November 27, 1895, Nobel signed his last will providing for the establishment of the Nobel Prize. He died of cerebral haemorrhage in his home in San Remo, Italy on December 10, 1896.
    Alfred died in San Remo, Italy on December 10, 1896. In his last will and testament, he wrote that much of his fortune was to be used to give prizes to those who have done their best for humanity in the field of physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and peace.

    In 1901, the first Nobel Prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine and Literature were first awarded in Stockholm, Sweden and the Peace Prize in Kristiania (now Oslo), Norway.
    The first Prize Award Ceremony in 1901 at the Old Royal Academy of Music in Stockholm.
首页 >> Nobel Prize Forum 2007 >> Others VIP 2007
Richard N. Zare


Richard N. Zare is the Marguerite Blake Wilbur Professor in Natural Science, a Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) Professor, and Chair of the Department of Chemistry, Stanford University.  His research group at Stanford is approximately equally divided between reaction dynamics and chemical analysis.  For his contributions to chemistry, which include about 800 papers, 4 books, and over 50 patents, he received the National Medal of Science (1983), the Welch Award in Chemistry (1999), and the Wolf Prize in Chemistry (2005) as well as ten honorary doctorates (including one from Hunan University). 

He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the American Philosophical Society. He is also a foreign member of The Royal Society, The Chinese Academy of Sciences, and the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA).  He has been active in public service (member of the National Science Board from 1992-1998, the last two years as its Chair) and he has received the Charles Lathrop Parsons Award, American Chemical Society, 2001, “to recognize outstanding public service by a member of the American Chemical Society.”  Zare is also known as an outstanding educator, receiving Stanford’s highest undergraduate teaching award (Hoagland Prize, 2003) and the ACS (Northeastern Section) James Flack Norris Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Teaching of Chemistry (2004).

Beijing Foreign Affairs Office