News & Events
 Nobel Laureates to Discuss Life Science Developments
 Nobel Laureates to Spark Scientific Curiosity in Beijing
 Organizers Meet for Nobel Laureates Beijing Forum 2006
 Nobel laureates upbeat on economy
 Mundell: China should keep currency peg
 Nobel Laureate Calls for More Education Investment
About Nobel Prize
    The Nobel Prize is an international award given yearly since 1901 for achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, literature and for peace. In 1968, the Bank of Sweden instituted the Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize.

    The Prize Winners are announced in October every year. They receive their awards (a prize amount, a gold medal and a diploma) on December 10, the anniversary of Nobel's death.
    Alfred Nobel was born in 1833 in Stockholm, Sweden. His family was descended from Olof Rudbeck, the best-known technical genius of Sweden's 17th century era as a great power in northern Europe.

    Nobel invented dynamite in 1866 and later built up companies and laboratories in more than 20 countries all over the world.

    On November 27, 1895, Nobel signed his last will providing for the establishment of the Nobel Prize. He died of cerebral haemorrhage in his home in San Remo, Italy on December 10, 1896.
    Alfred died in San Remo, Italy on December 10, 1896. In his last will and testament, he wrote that much of his fortune was to be used to give prizes to those who have done their best for humanity in the field of physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and peace.

    In 1901, the first Nobel Prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine and Literature were first awarded in Stockholm, Sweden and the Peace Prize in Kristiania (now Oslo), Norway.
    The first Prize Award Ceremony in 1901 at the Old Royal Academy of Music in Stockholm.
首页 >> Nobel Prize Forum 2007 >> VIP Guests 2007
Carlo Rubbia (2007-08-10)
Douglas D.Osheroff (2007-08-10)
Rudolph A. Marcus (2007-08-10)
Harold Kroto (2007-08-10)
Walter Kohn (2007-08-10)
John F. Nash Jr. (2005-04-28)
Robert A. Mundell (2005-04-26)
Richard R. Schrock (2007-08-10)
Thomas Schelling (2007-08-10)
Edmund Phelps (2007-08-10)
Lee Tsung-dao (2006-09-05)
Hartmut Michel (2006-09-05)
Robert Huber (2006-09-05)
Aaron Ciechanover (2006-09-05)
Louis J. Ignarro (2006-09-05)
Ferid Murad (2006-09-05)
Xiaodong Wang (2006-09-05)
Robert A. Mundell (2005-04-26)
James A. Mirrlees (2005-04-26)
Robert W. Fogel (2005-04-28)