News & Events
 Nobel Laureates to Discuss Life Science Developments
 Nobel Laureates to Spark Scientific Curiosity in Beijing
 Organizers Meet for Nobel Laureates Beijing Forum 2006
 Nobel laureates upbeat on economy
 Mundell: China should keep currency peg
 Nobel Laureate Calls for More Education Investment
About Nobel Prize
    The Nobel Prize is an international award given yearly since 1901 for achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, literature and for peace. In 1968, the Bank of Sweden instituted the Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize.

    The Prize Winners are announced in October every year. They receive their awards (a prize amount, a gold medal and a diploma) on December 10, the anniversary of Nobel's death.
    Alfred Nobel was born in 1833 in Stockholm, Sweden. His family was descended from Olof Rudbeck, the best-known technical genius of Sweden's 17th century era as a great power in northern Europe.

    Nobel invented dynamite in 1866 and later built up companies and laboratories in more than 20 countries all over the world.

    On November 27, 1895, Nobel signed his last will providing for the establishment of the Nobel Prize. He died of cerebral haemorrhage in his home in San Remo, Italy on December 10, 1896.
    Alfred died in San Remo, Italy on December 10, 1896. In his last will and testament, he wrote that much of his fortune was to be used to give prizes to those who have done their best for humanity in the field of physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and peace.

    In 1901, the first Nobel Prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine and Literature were first awarded in Stockholm, Sweden and the Peace Prize in Kristiania (now Oslo), Norway.
    The first Prize Award Ceremony in 1901 at the Old Royal Academy of Music in Stockholm.
首页 >> Nobel Prize Forum 2007 >> VIP Guests 2007
Richard R. Schrock


Richard R. Schrock received his Ph. D. in inorganic chemistry from Harvard in 1971. After spending one year as an NSF postdoctoral fellow at Cambridge University and three years at the Cerntral Research and Development Department of E. I. DuPont de Nemours and Co., he moved to M.I.T. in 1975 where he became full professor in 1980 and the Frederick G. Keyes Professor of Chemistry in 1989. His interests include the inorganic and organometallic chemistry of high oxidation state, early metal complexes (especially those that contain an alkylidene or alkylidyne ligand), catalysis and mechanisms, the chemistry of high oxidation state dinitrogen complexes and catalytic dinitrogen reduction, and the controlled polymerization of olefins and acetylenes. From the ACS he has received the Award in organometallic chemistry (1985), the Harrison Howe Award (Rochester section, 1990), the Award in Inorganic Chemistry (1996), an ACS Cope Scholar Award (2001), and the F. Albert Cotton Award in Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry (2006). From the German Chemical Society he has received the August Wilhelm von Hofmann Medal (with R. H. Grubbs, 2005), and from the Royal Society of Chemistry the Sir Geoffrey Wilkinson Medal (2002) and the Sir Edward Frankland Prize (2004). He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences. In 2005 he shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry with R. H. Grubbs and Y. Chauvin.

Beijing Foreign Affairs Office